Ghana is a West African country located on the Gulf of Guinea bordered by Burkina Faso (northwest), Togo (east), and Côte D'Avoire.

Formerly a British colony known as the Gold Coast, Ghana achieved independence in 1957, becoming the first sub-Saharan nation to do so.

Ghanian climate is tropical. In Southern Ghana there are two rainy seasons. A dry desert wind called the harmattan creates hot days and cool nights.

In 1998, estimated population reached 18,497,206, with population being concentrated in the coastal areas and principal cities, Accra and Kumasi. Population is divided into seventy-five ethnic groups. Most are agricultural workers who live on farms and in small village




Soil and Vegetation


Rivers and Oceans

Settlement Patterns


Designed and researched by History Global Studies 12, South Colchester High School, Brookfield, Nova Scotia, Canada